Make Love, Not War

A picture is worth a thousand words.

In my AP English class, we are taught something similar to SOAPSTONE (Specific, Occasion, Audience, Purpose, Subject, Tone) called OPTIC (Overview, Parts, Title, Interrelationships, Conclusion). Although these tools might seem tedious, they’re actually really helpful!

We spent today’s class period looking at a simple black-and-white picture that many would just glance at and never look at it again, but we spent an hour looking at it. An hour. We went from, “Oh, they’re probably moving or going on vacation” to “check out at how they cropped this photo!!” It did, however help me with OPTIC-ing pictures.

I think this commerical (except that it’s from Axe) is a perfect example to OPTIC.

The difference between OPTIC and SOAPSTONE? To be honest, I’m not sure. They both seem similar with analyzing the photo by finding it’s purpose but OPTIC differs because we also try to find the relationships within it. While looking for examples for this blog post, I ended up looking at advertisements, which reminded me of an assignment I had in September where I used thinglink to SOAPSTONE an ad. 

I really hope OPTIC (ha, made it into a verb) more pictures tomorrow!

Crookshanks

Leave a Reply

