With Every Broken Bone, I Swear I Lived

I love One Republic. Their lyrics are often relatable, catchy, but most of all, inspirational. I was especially excited about their new album that came out this year, Native. One of their songs in particular, I Lived, caught my ear (that makes sense!). I swear, this song has brought me up when I was down and is probably on my Top 25 Played on iTunes.

I, I did it all
I, I did it all
I owned every second
That this world could give
I saw so many places
The things that I did
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

When I finished reading The Great Gatsby for my AP English class, the ordeal Jay Gatsby went through reminded me of this song. Can you imagine the 1920 Jay Gatsby singing this song?!

Jay Gatsby did do it all. James Gatz of North Dakota in his “torn green jersey and a pair of canvas pants”, had the heart of a “constant, turbulent riot” and aspired to be somebody. He took advantage of every second by saving Dan Cody’s life and yacht in the nick of time. He saw many places, and made himself an identity through business opportunities.

Everyone has a little Jay Gatsby in them. We all want to become someone. Become notorious. One thing that sets dreamers from those who actually became someone is action. Like Jay Gatsby, it’s YOU who has to be proactive. YOU who must take the initiative YOU motivate yourself. Sure, teachers and parents may give you a nudge here and there but YOU are responsible for yourself at the end of the day. We are in the real world. If you want something, do whatever it takes to get it. Jay Gatsby had a prompt schedule scribbled in Hopalong Cassidy that he followed religiously with times and “General Resolves” that he followed as little reminders to better himself. Sure, he may have written it, but the key to being successful was to actually follow the schedule.

Jay Gatsby has definitely fulfilled the American Dream. He lived.

-Crookshanks

Leave a Reply

