A Day Without Sunshine, Is Like, You Know, Night

I cried while I was reading Night. This was the first time I’ve cried reading since My Sister’s Keeper.

I started tearing up when Eliezer’s father’s health began to deteriorate. In the beginning, Eliezer describes his father as “a cultured man, rather unsentimental” and “rarely displayed his feelings, not even within his family, and was more involved within his family, and was more involved with the welfare of others than with that of his own kin.”  He and his father manage to stick together each time they get deported, but his father, becomes weaker and weaker each day.

Throughout the book, we see his father’s defenses go down and he seems to become even more childish. While the story focuses on life in the concentration camps, we can relate to his father’s insanity on a personal level. We watch his father suffer through his son’s helpless eyes.

In the end, Eliezer’s father is simply asking for water, and out of fear, he doesn’t help his father. He then peers at his father’s bloody face for quite sometime and then goes to sleep. When he wakes up, his father is replaced with another sick person.

“I gave him what was left of my soup. But my heart was heavy. I was aware that I was doing it grudingly. Just like Rabbbi Eliahu’s son, I had not passed the test.”

I feel like all of the readers can put themselves in Eliezer’s position, being selfish to save ourselves, rather than others. It can be as simple as telling the truth to your teachers to save yourself from your cheating friends.

stay_with_me_i_am_lonely-899

“No prayers where said over his tomb. No candle lit in his memory. His last word had been my name. He had called out to me and I had no answered.”

Happy Father’s Day, everyone!

Crookshanks

One response to “A Day Without Sunshine, Is Like, You Know, Night

Leave a Reply

