Better Than Revenge

What is revenge, really?! Well, dictionary.com defines revenge as… hahaha just kidding.

Who doesn’t enjoy a little satisfaction from getting back at someone you hate? I sure don’t mind a little satisfaction on the side for someone who truly deserves it…. isn’t there a word for that? Schadenfreude? Yeah, I don’t know these days.

I’m currently reading Count of Monte Cristo, and to basically sum it up in a few words, Edmond, the main character, seeks revenge (yes!) to the men who sent him to prison. Even better, he has elaborate schemes and traps. I really should plan my schemes whenever I want to seek revenge on someone. It would be much more epic than Edmond’s.. trust me.

So instead of analyzing the book for you, I’ll try to sum up the story as best as possible through Taylor Swift. This one’s for you, Swifties!

I Knew You Were Trouble

I knew you were trouble when you walked in
So shame on me now
Flew me to places I’ve never been
Now I’m lying on the cold hard ground

Hah. Edmond gets sent to prison and now he’s “lying on the cold hard ground.” Hah!

Eyes Open

The tricky thing
Is yesterday we were just children
Playing soldiers
Just pretending
Dreaming dreams with happy endings
In backyards, winning battles with our wooden swords
But now we’ve stepped into a cruel world
Where everybody stands and keeps score

This song reminds me when Edmond realizes that he was in a plot to send him to prison and roughens up in prison.

Better Than Revenge

She took him faster than you can say sabotage
I never saw it coming
Wouldn’t have suspected it
I underestamated just who I was dealing with
She had to know the pain
Was beating in me like a drum
She underestimated just who she was stealing from

Let’s replace “She” with “He” and imagine Edmond humming this song while he’s seeking revenge on Mondego, Villefort, and Danglars.

Haunted

You and I walk a fragile line
I have known it all this time
but I never thought I’d live to see it break
It’s getting dark and it’s all to quiet
And I can’t trust anything now
And it’s coming over you like it’s all a big mistake

This song is sort of shows Dantes’ loss of trust in everyone.

And of course, a love song.

Enchanted

Your eyes whispered how we met
Across the room your silhouette
Starts to make it’s way to me

I feel this is how Mercedes felt when she first recognizes Dantes for the first time in forever.

I hope you liked it! 🙂

-Crookshanks

Leave a Reply

