The Perks of Being on the Western Front

Last week, I finished reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and this weekend, I watched the movie. First of all, the book was absolutely fantastic and the movie was really great too. I definitely recommend reading and watching this book/movie! Anyway, I was planning to write about the book, when I remembered that it was my turn to write a blog post. So, instead of writing separate posts, I decided I would write about The Perks of Being a Wallflower and All Quiet on the Western Front together.

At first, I wasn’t sure about what I was going to write about. I mean, these two books cover completely different topics. Then, I realized that they actually do have something in common; the theme of friendship. In All Quiet on the Western Front, friendship plays an important role in a soldier’s life. Think about if you were in war; fighting for your life every day, watching people die every day. And at the end of a long, gruesome day, wouldn’t it be nice to have your friends take your mind off of everything that had happened that day? Kind of like a light at the end of a tunnel. At least, that’s what I think it would be like. Then, there’s that scene where Paul and Kat are roasting the goose. I really liked this scene because, it showed the affection and bond that had grown between the two men. “We don’t talk much, but I believe that we have a more complete communion with one another than even lovers have … We are brothers.”

Throughout the book, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, the main character, Charlie struggles with numerous problems. His best friend had killed himself and now he has to enter high school alone, no one wants to be his friend, and he has to deal with bullies. “It would be very nice to have a friend again. I would like that even more than a date.” Then, he meets Sam and Patrick, and his life suddenly becomes a lot better. “Sam and Patrick looked at me. And I looked at them. And I think they knew. Not anything specific really. They just knew. And I think that’s all you can ever ask from a friend.” Together, Sam and Patrick introduce him to their friends and they all bring Charlie out of his shell; they peel him off of the wall. Their friendships become important to Charlie and he finally feels like he belongs.

In the end, friendship definitely played an important role in these two stories. Without it, the characters and story would have turned out completely different. And I guess it’s like that in life too. You meet someone and they unexpectedly turn out to have one of the biggest impacts on your life. But, what if you had never met that person? What would you be like? I could keep going on and on with “what if’s,” but this would turn into the world’s longest blog post. Well, that’s all I have to say for today. So, go out with your friends or make some new ones! Have a cat-tastic day! 🙂

-Mrs. Norris

2 responses to “The Perks of Being on the Western Front

  1. i abosulutely love this post, it had given me the inspiration in order to write my new re-framed because it was somewhat relate-able but can also be argued with in order to form an audience of both haters and lovers of your blog!

Leave a Reply

